Hospicare Board of Directors

The Hospicare Board of Directors oversees the financial, clinical and regular operations of Hospicare & Palliative Care Services. Board members are recruited from the community and generally serve a three-year term.

  • President: Loren Gardner, Wealth Advisor, Tompkins Trust Company
  • Vice President: Michelle Turek, Commercial Banker, Tompkins Trust Company
  • Treasurer: Mutale Sokoni, Controller, TC3 Foundation
  • Secretary: Marrie Neumer, Assistant Dean of Alumni Affairs and Development for Computing and Information Science (CIS), Cornell University
  • Joan Jacobs Brumberg, Professor Emerita of History, Cornell University
  • Denise Brown-Hart, Director of Human Resources, College of Engineering, Computing and Information Science, Cornell University
  • Linda Crumb, Assistant Vice President, Patient Services, Cayuga Medical Center
  • Betsy East, Associate Dean for Student Services, College of Engineering, Cornell University
  • Elena Flash, Executive Director of Love Living at Home
  • Mariette Geldenhuys, Attorney
  • Gerald L. Hector, CPA, VP for Financial Affairs, Cornell University
  • Kansas Underwood, Nursing Director, Cayuga Medical Center
  • Bonita (Bonni) Voiland, Director of Strategic Projects for BluePearl® Veterinary Partners, a Mars Petcare brand
  • Jamie Millard, Health Care Administrator

Hospicare Foundation Board

The Hospicare Foundation Board owns the Hospicare property at 172 East King Road in the town of Ithaca. The Foundation oversees Hospicare’s long-term investments and capital.

  • Chair: John Collett, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Cayuga Medical Center
  • Vice-Chair: Charles Guttman, Attorney
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Paul Banfield, Retired banker
  • Nina Miller, Retired Executive Director, Hospicare
  • Mark Wheeler, Attorney

Hospice Foundation of Cortland County 

The Hospice Foundation of Cortland County works with Hospicare staff and members of the Hospicare Board of Directors to support hospice services throughout Cortland County.

  • President: Barbara Closson
  • Vice President: Gail VanPatten
  • Secretary: Nancy Fuller
  • Treasurer: Dianne Higgins
  • Kathy Boyland
  • Dr. Pat Hayes
  • Bill Hopkins
  • Mike Kilmer
  • Bev Ryan
  • Pat Storrs